“Here’s to Jack, dipping his stick!”

Image

Celeste stayed quiet till she finished the fleshing of the bear hide.  Evening was setting while the two worked in unison to prepare the meat and hide in silence.  She took out her pack of coffee in her backpack, and put a pot on the fire.  Jack watched her walk around his camp with her hands behind her back.  He was becoming nervous with each passing quiet moment.

While coffee was brewing, Celeste walked around the camp looking at all of Jack’s amazing well cured animal hides, while many thoughts flew through her mind.  Silently, she walked back to the fire pit and poured her and Jack a cup of coffee.  Then sat back down on a log by the warm fire, and looked at Jack who was feeling a shame, she spoke lightly.

“Your a half-breed just like me Jack.  Who was not an Eskimo in your family?” Jack was surprised to hear she knew he was a half-breed.  He took a deep breath then slowly let it out.  “My mother first married an Eskimo man; henceforth, that is how I had an older brother. Sadly, his father died early in their marriage due to a Walrus hunt.  She then married a white man explorer, and they created me.  My father was a gentle knowledgeable man, my mother and him had a very special spiritual bond. We had a happy family Nujalik through my growing years. I think I broke my mother’s heart when I enlisted myself into the Army.  They wanted me to wed a woman and stay with the tribe.”  Celeste stayed quiet, staring into the embers of the fire deep in a trance.  What seemed like an hour had passed in silence, is when Jack took note her eyes immediately widen, she then looked at him and said, “You’re wrong!” 

Jack raised is only eyebrow at her, not understanding what she meant…he was wrong?  “You are not the only one who survived in your family Jack.”  Jack saw a spacey look in Celeste’s eyes when she spoke to him in a soft distance voice.  “What do you mean, woman?” He dared to ask her. Not answering him, she picked up the pot of coffee and filled both of their cups again with the black liquid.  She then put a frying pan on the fire and went to cut a few pieces of bear meat to cook.  Jack watched her with interest while she added herbs and water to the meat.

As she sat back down upon the log by the fire, she picked up her coffee cup and looked deeply into Jack’s eye, he became curious under her gaze.  What did she know that he did not?  In the distance, they both heard the howl of a wolf.  Celeste returned the howl perfectly, as the wolf in the distance replied back.  “Wolf loves you Nujalik,” Jack softy stated. 

“You have someone who doesn’t know you, but who loves you dearly Jack.  He has been searching for you, for many years!”   Celeste began to giggle.  “What do you know woman?  Tell me now!” Jack was becoming short with Celeste.  She then decided to tease him in a little kid fashion…”I know something you don’t know!  Tisk, tisk, patience Jack.”  Celeste said with amusement. 

Jack was not liking her comment regarding patience’s, when she threw her bomb at him. “Doesn’t feel good huh, dude?  Remember patience is torture sometimes to others.” Celeste was loving this edge she had over Jack.  She was getting ready to tell him, when she felt him invade her mind.  “Get out of my head old man, ain’t happening!” She added with glee, pissing off Jack further.  She was giving him hints, but he was not really listening to her.  If he was smart enough he would put it together.  Men….I swear!!!! She chuckled to herself.

Jack sat quiet in thought, while she got up and told him she needed to leave him for a while to his thoughts.  “Quad needs to eat, we will return in an hour, enough time for our dinner to finish.”  Jack watched the two leave the forest, while he thought about what she told him.

Celeste found a perfect spot for Quad to eat.  She watched her lovely stallion eat while she sat on a rock and thought about the delicious information she saw in the fire. Pulling out a cigar, she lit the tobacco stick with her lighter and chuckled out loud.  Quad looked at her then continued eating.  Celeste looked into the night sky, stars shining brightly.  The full moon was peaking over the volcano rocky mountain top.  She got into her backpack again and pulled out her whiskey flask.  “Thank you Mother Earth for informing me!” Taking a big swig of the burning liquid, she smile with glee and toasted the moon with her flask before taking another drink and said, “Here’s to Jack, dipping his stick!” 

 

Picture by: https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&docid=URRy31emj076IM&tbnid=haMyvrNnQVNEKM:&ved=0CAQQjB0&url=http%3A%2F%2Fcraftsmumship.com%2F2011%2F12%2Fsnowman-cake-pops%2F&ei=m1VIUq7nOOqQ2AWRrIB4&bvm=bv.53217764,d.b2I&psig=AFQjCNF5ntAcHffpaSppY_gwT_Yd-vGNTQ&ust=1380558421894061

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on ““Here’s to Jack, dipping his stick!”

  1. Hello, Slingshotbaby,

    I want to say thanks for following me at http://www.oldspouse.wordpress.com.

    I’d like to add that if you enjoy my “This Old Spouse” column, I think you’ll love this:

    http://www.amazon.com/The-Oklo-Device-ebook/dp/B00F9IPO04/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1379510327&sr=1-1

    Or you can go here:

    http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/354657

    It’s a terrifying story called The Oklo Device.

    Take a look at the story; see if you get hooked on it, e-mail me at roger.white@tasb.org, and I’ll send you the rest. If you like the story, please share with others. This is the only way good things happen today–agents and publishers are of the dinosaur era. They’re slow; they’re frightened; and they’ll eat you if you’re not careful. We’re on our own. I truly believe in this book. If you do, too, share it with someone. Thank you!

    And thank you so much, again, for being one of the faithful.

    Best regards,
    Roger White
    “This Old Spouse”

    1. Thank you Roger, for stopping by too! I did like your site and look forward to returning. Roger you have given excellent advice on publishers and agents. This is my first time out there and you know, I thought it was going to be good with a publisher promoting me, HAHA was I in a sleep! As Author’s we have to do our own marketing. So the next book I do plan to publish myself.

      How sweet to share…I have done it many times because I believe in the story Slingshot. But I would love to take a look at your story. I am pretty swamped right now with writing and my Driver’s Education business. Winter is almost upon us, so I will have time to read it! OH Yes, I did check the book out a little, I can’t wait to read it!
      Thank you again for your love! Kiss Kiss

Leave a Reply

