“Yippee Ki yay!”

Image

It was time for no more poking around in Celeste’s world.  After last night, she realized that she was not going to under estimate nor play with mother nature again;  especially, when she was not from this territory.  She knew it was her fault for putting her family into a freezing situation, just because she could not keep her composure due to the lost of her stallion.  There were no more room for careless mistakes.

As they walked out of the airport the Cat came around the corner.  Celeste became giddy with excitement to drive the monster snow mobile.  Jack stood with his mouth open wide as Celeste wanted to giggle.  “Yep, Jack this chick-a-lita is going to kick some ass on the snow in style. I will be damned if we freeze again.” Jack finally spoke up after her sassy comment.  “Nujalik it’s so big, can you really handle a big machine like that?”

“Jack there isn’t any type of machinery I haven’t driven, so I am sure I can hang dude! This is going to be the BOMB!” She yelled out with excitement.  Wolf picking up on Celeste’s energy began to run around in the snow.  She scooped up a hand full of snow and started to make a snowball.  Wolf bark and waited for her to throw it at him.  Not wanting to hit him she threw it over his head, he of course flew up in the air and caught it with ease.

The Snow Cat stopped in front of them slowly.  Celeste quickly opened the passenger side and jumped into the cab and asked the man for the basic knowledge of the snow beast.  When he finished, he walked over and helped Jack get into the cab.  Celeste opened the passenger door letting Wolf jump in before the slow poke Jack began his entry.

“Okay slick let’s get ready to rock and roll, cause mama has a new pair of snow shoes! Woo Hoo!” Jack smiled richly to her.  He was in awe of the Big Boy and the comfort of heat and room in the spacious cab.  He took note that all her supplies fit perfectly neatly stacked in the back.  “Nujalik this is a great way to travel in Alaska?  So warm, but loud and if we need too we can sleep in here.”  Celeste winked at her partner and put the beast into gear.

Some would call Celeste a Can Do Girl, because of her knack to pick up anything she put her mind to do.  She loved the challenge and risk of learning something new, especially when it deals with boy toys. In no time at all, their road was clear for the taking as the Snow Cat plowed through the snow with ease. In a few hours they would be in the “In the Tree” people territory if they keep this easy pace up.  Celeste started to fill Jack in on her plans of what to expect when he returned home after fifty years.

“A lot has changed I am sure Jack since you been home.  Or maybe not, after seeing the small town of Noatak, shit who in their right mind would want to live here?” Jack became serious protecting the Alaskan honor.  “Nujalik, Alaska is beautiful, but very wild and untamed.  I will teach you to hunt Polar Bear, Walrus, and Seal.  My name Aklaq means Black Bear, I earned that name battling many bears as a young lad. You know this to be true, for you and I have battle one together!  This will be the ultimate hunting experience in your lifetime.  I was born for this climate, learned to hunt, and witness the color lights in the sky upon this wicked yet beautiful land. And now, I am not sure I can stand to live my life out here anymore?”

Celeste listened to Jack’s words, and added gently.  “I do believe the Mountains in the Sangre de Cristo’s of New Mexico has spoiled you my man.  I actually agree with you, but you will be home Jack and soon. Does this mean I think you want to return back in the woods?”

Jack sat quietly for a few moments thinking about her question.  “I admit, I do miss my hut in New Mexico, it had everything for me to live happy.  But what happens if I am not wanted or looked upon as a coward?  I can’t leave my family now knowing I have a son.  What if he hates me?  What if…” Celeste had to stop Jack.

“No what-if’s Jack, you will be strong! You must and I want you to take NO Prisoners! Besides, I gotcha your back, and I do believe they will love you as much as I have grown to love the crazy mountain man you are. You have lost many years Jack, time to pull your pants up and spend the rest of your life out with a family!  How about we wait to talk about this situation and see what bridges we need to cross before we jinx the shit out of it.” Jack nodded yes.

For some reason they both couldn’t finish expressing their feelings.  They sat quietly for thirty minutes traveling on the flat snowy land when Celeste stopped the Cat to take a bathroom break.  Wolf leaped out of the truck before Celeste.  With a wicked smile she balanced herself on the step while spreading her arms out.  Jack raise his eye in question. “I need to do this dude…this snow is calling my name to make a snow angel.  Want to come and help me?” “How you going to make a snow angel girl and it’s freezing outside, get back in here Nujalik.  This area is very dangerous with one of the meanest bears of all Alaska!” Jack barked out.  She gave him a wink and leaned backwards screaming out, “Yippee Ki yay!”

picture by: https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&docid=CgO7plq_04o5kM&tbnid=A5qhqGn9oU1rgM:&ved=0CAQQjB0&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.landroverstuff.com%2Fmichsnowangel.htm&ei=Aq6SUoGXENSC2gW76oGwDQ&bvm=bv.56988011,d.b2I&psig=AFQjCNH4dcvmfB7HgcAZFydNrPuPVHe-Kg&ust=1385430824814954

Leave a Reply

