“I got’s to keep ya a secret boy, so I will take ya to Ernie’s when I get back home from school.”

Image

The white gelding blazed through the hollers while Celeste pondered on Ernie’s statement, and when they were almost home Celeste spoke out to her friend. “Ghost how come adults say the same stuff? I remember Mama saying something about using a manual before? I don’t know what a manual is, but I guess I will figure it out another time.  Let’s hope ma is in a better mood.”  The little country girl slid off the horses’ back and lead him to the pasture.  “Thank ya boy for always being here fer me. I owe ya!”  She kissed the beast and went to see if the coast was clear in the house.

With caution she entered and saw the table set for two people with two candlelight’s lighting the small room. “Is that you Celeste? Where have you been young lady?” Her mother calmly asked when she came out of the kitchen wiping her hands on a towel.  Confused and stun that her mother acted like nothing happen, she didn’t utter a word except give her mother a dumbfounded gaze.  “What the heck is the matter with you?  Why you looking at me like you’re confused?” Celeste shook her head and said, “I’m sorry I thought…Oh never mind.  I was at Ernie’s helping him skin a possum. The table is pretty mama what we havin’?”

“Go wash up you’re just in time for spaghetti.”  Her mother returned to the kitchen and Celeste obeyed her command. The evening turned out to be very pleasant.  Celeste didn’t want the mood to change if she asked her mother why she called her a bitch.  She let the sleeping dog lay and lived in the loving moment of being with her kind mother once again.  Several hours had passed by as the tomboy sat listening to her mother’s herbal lessons while eating her dinner. She loved watching her mother’s face become free without stress when she spoke dearly of plant life. So Celeste absorb the information and retained the priceless information.

“I gotta go to bed mama, I’m tired.  Thanks for a good dinner, I love ya mother.”  Celeste said to her mother after helping her clear the table.  She slowly went to hug her mother and realized she was the height of her boobies.  “My god child your growing like a weed. I think you might get as tall as my father one day?”  Celeste smiled and snuggled deeper into the embrace of her kin.

The winter months flew by in a hurry for the little tomboy. Her mother never again displayed the ugly side of her to Celeste. So each day became a joy to watch the cowgirl flourish in a happy family love environment. However, during those months, Celeste found a baby raccoon one day on the side of the road when her and Ghost were returning from a evening ride.  The poor little booger’s mother had been squashed to death by a passing automobile.  To sweet Celeste could not leave the tiny animal all alone, she quickly took off her heavy jacket and through the material over the little rodent, and carried it home scratching, growling, and screaming.

With care she placed the critter into a cage and locked the door.  The wild little critter went crazy in confinement and began to bit the metal bars. “I’m gonna git ya some food and water for the night.  I got’s to keep ya a secret boy, so I will take ya to Ernie’s when I get back home from school.”  The wild animal could careless what the girl said, he was too busy growling out his displeasure, until Celeste gave him a few raw eggs to eat.

In the end, she left the raccoon at Ernie’s home. She was adamant about Ernie promising her he would not skin or eat the poor sucker.  Her hickey friend obliged and taught Celeste the art of taming a silly raccoon throughout the year of 1966.

picture by: https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&docid=qU18xJSceiU6MM&tbnid=5xeK17_Bvm5tbM:&ved=0CAQQjB0&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.wildcarebayarea.org%2Fsite%2FPageServer%3Fpagename%3DeNews_September2011_landingpage&ei=k7neUr38DaqA2QXD0oDYBQ&bvm=bv.59568121,d.b2I&psig=AFQjCNGSab-RjqiQevS_8PeRFIuk2uKJUw&ust=1390414468649820

5 thoughts on ““I got’s to keep ya a secret boy, so I will take ya to Ernie’s when I get back home from school.”

Leave a Reply

